We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Do not think it wont happen to you.

A B
The Hague, The...
Level Contributor
61 posts
23 reviews
Save Topic
Do not think it wont happen to you.

Near the Bhen tra market the neckless from my husband was stolen. We were just crossing THE street and à scooter passed by in a way we had to stop. And then the guy on the scooter pulled THE golden chain from THE neck of my husband. I tolled him not to wear it but he was stubborn! We don't think it was à random act but that it was on porpose and that they sought us out.

Pattaya, Thailand
Destination Expert
for Pattaya, Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
7,681 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Do not think it wont happen to you.

Unfortunate and unlucky. I've been wearing mine for 10+ yrs in SEA. (just need to have your wits about you)

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7,714 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Do not think it wont happen to you.

Only jewellery I ever take to Vietnam is my wedding band. I bought a solar driven, water resistant 500 $ watch that will not break and leave the Rolex at home with the gold chain with the jade Buddha.

If for no other reason than to get out of every Vietnamese woman pointing at the chain and saying "take it off or it will be stolen". Kind of funny, as I bought it in Vietnam...

Oh well.

To the OP: don't let it ruin your holidays. You are probably insured, and if you're not you just bought yourself a lesson.

Italy
Level Contributor
39,493 posts
226 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Do not think it wont happen to you.

Thanks for the warning but best never to wear jewellery anywhere not only in HCMC it can happen anywhere.

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7,714 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: Do not think it wont happen to you.