We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haggling / Bargaining

Auckland Central...
Level Contributor
752 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Haggling / Bargaining

Hi guys!

Can anyone give me some tips on how to haggle / bargain in places like MBK?

I've never done anything like that before and would love to hear some first hand tips and experiences.

From what I can gather (from reading online forums), stuff in MBK is ridiculously overpriced at first. It appears that you should never pay more than 1/2 of what they first say, starting your offer at about 1/3.

Look forward to reading what people have to say!

Ash

Dobbs Ferry New York
Level Contributor
99 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Haggling / Bargaining

Ash,

When we did all our shopping Nok haggled for us. She knew prices of everything. A polo shirt cost usually 250 Baht for one when we bought 20 they lowered it to 180 Baht for one.

As for watches they wanted like 9000Baht and we paid 1500. Just to give you examples.

Nok took us to where all the local thai people shopped and that is where we got best buys.

We even went to Patpong night market for a lot of stuff.

Bring a calculator with you.

Tracy

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,176 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Haggling / Bargaining

A lot of stuff at MBK is fixed price, however at the market type areas you can bargain if you are buying more than one item. We have never paid more than 199 baht for polo shirts anywhere in Thailand (nike/callaway/armani etc). This is the standard marked price for most polos/teeshirts at MBK anyway. (if you want better quality for brands such as Billabong/ripcurl,ecko etc head up to the top floors they are a bit more expensive but very very good quality).