We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any advise regarding Everest Base Camp trek?

Gurugram (Gurgaon...
2 posts
Save Topic
Any advise regarding Everest Base Camp trek?

So i am planning to do the Everest Base Camp trek this April-May. From what i have gathered, it's a 14-18 day trek and is rated medium on the difficulty level.

I am fairly athletic. Completed the half marathon this year. And would love to do this alone (no guides). I haven't researched a lot, and so am sorry if i sound like a complete noob. Nevertheless, I would love everybody's advise on this. My questions are :

How should i go about this? What all is absolutely required? Are there any things in particular one needs to take into consideration before going on with his/her plans? What all equipments are absolutely necessary? What is the total estimated cost involving the whole trek? Any legal issues? (I am an Indian national, so don't believe there would be any problem in getting in Nepal).

Any other suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Mentioned in this post
Denmark
Level Contributor
1,609 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any advise regarding Everest Base Camp trek?

If this is your first trekking experience, I think it is a little presumptuous to go alone. Even experienced trekkers should never trek alone...one wrong turn, an accident the wrong place, AMS etc. and you are in deep trouble.

Anyway you can start to read here:

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g293889-s208/Nepal:We…

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g293889-c134552/Nepal…

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g293889-c176094/Nepal…

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g293889-c152405/Nepal…

Cumbria
Level Contributor
5,384 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Any advise regarding Everest Base Camp trek?

Good advice already posted by Lisbeth