We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Namibia without car ! Need a solution !

London, United...
2 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Namibia without car ! Need a solution !

Hi Everybody,

We are the 9th of November and we don't have anymore car for our trip in Namibia begining the 14th ! My driving licence, sent to be translated, has been lost by the post.

Anyway I'm looking for any solution to enjoy our stay : We are arriving the 14th (2pm) and we leave the 27th of November from Windhoek. So

- If you know any D-system to get a car ? Or how can we have a chance to find one when we will be there ? (I guess not on internet) I only have the photocopy of my french driving licence, that's it. I'm a confident driver, even on the left hand side as I'm currently living in the UK.

- If we can find anybody who has 2 spare seats, we would love joining you. It can be from windhoek or Swakopmund, for a part of your trip, just a few days (in Namib, Dramaraland, Etosha...).

- Any suggestion about what's possible without a car ? Or what we can visit around Windhoek ? Because we have a very short stay, I guess we will just have time to visit Windhoek, Swakopmund and maybe find a small safari farm close to a city.

Or maybe some quick and CHEAP organized tours/excurtions exists from Windhoek ?

Thank you in advance for any help/advice you can give !

Lise & Quentin

Hermanus, South...
Destination Expert
for Namibia
Level Contributor
1,663 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Namibia without car ! Need a solution !