We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

camera question

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
341 posts
87 reviews
Save Topic
camera question

Hi All,

I know we have quite a few keen photographers in the forum, so I am hoping you can help me out! I currently have a Nikon coolpix l120 that's about 6 years old. It's a simple camera, quite compact but usually turns out good photos. That said, I've never shot in Africa and I really want to be able to capture some great photos - particularly the colors, night photos, and clearness. I am no expert, however, and thus need something that is fairly simple to use and not too bulky.

Does anyone know if a camera such as the one I have will be sufficient or should I look into investing in a different one (based upon reviews I have been considering the Nikon D3300 or Fujifilm XT10). If someone could suggest lens as well that are useful for shooting such landscapes I would appreciate it.

Thank you in advance!!

Edited: 2:27 pm, February 11, 2017
Slovenia
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18,805 posts
60 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: camera question

The Nikon Coolpix range of cameras is a good option for someone needing a do-it-all in a compact size. Latest models, like B500, B700 and P900 offers almost everything from wide to extreme telephoto in one compact form. But they are working always always in Auto or Green mode.

If you want to get the best out of the beautiful Africa light then you will need a DSLR. However, if planning to use a DSLR camera in Auto or Green or even P mode, then just stay with above mentioned models. Because moving to a DSLR (and even to a mirrorless camera like Fuji XT10) will require a very different approach to photography. And a new set of lens also.