We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harare hotel recommendation for 4-day business trip

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
4 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Harare hotel recommendation for 4-day business trip

Hi, I will be traveling to Harare for business. I am a female, and this is my first time visiting a country in Africa. I was recommended by my partner there to stay at the Meikles Hotel, but after reviewing comments on the various hotels in the area, I am wondering if the Meikles is worth the extra money (versus staying at the Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza). Can anyone advise or make a recommendation about this? I really just need somewhere CLEAN, totally safe, comfortable, and has Internet access. Thank you!

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
167 posts
49 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Harare hotel recommendation for 4-day business trip

Hi pearls123

Not sure when is your business trip.

However – Harare is relatively safe, like many other cities, common sense prevails. I won’t recommend anyone I care about to stay at Meikles Hotel, neither would I recommend Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. Do you absolutely need to stay in a hotel and in town? There is so much more to offer in terms of accommodation if you are willing to move away from town centre itself. If you NEED to stay in town, then try Bronte (they are in TA as well).

Otherwise, I’d say try the B&Bs all over Harare’s Northern Suburbs such as:

1) Thornhill Guesthouse (in Newlands – near WHO) - Ideal for anyone visiting Harare It has Internet access and is friendly, comfortable and convenient. There is also a self contained cottage for weekly or monthly bookings’ email: thornhil@zol.co.zw or phone +263-4-776406 or John on +263772 316621 for details. Link: tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g293760-d191627…