We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Some ideas for a Phtoto safari in Serengeti - Help

Dubai, United Arab...
Level Contributor
7 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Some ideas for a Phtoto safari in Serengeti - Help

Dear Safari Lovers ,

I am planning to visit Serengeti by last week of october 2012 from Dubai.

Planning to spend 5 day at Serengeti , as of now I know only that place .

My main intention is to see wild life / Photography -- invested $$$ in equipments , this is my first time in East Africa .

Appreciate if some one can give me some idea on the same ( How things work out ) or there any better place for the same in October 2012.

regards,

meetrijas

Edited: 5:19 am, September 10, 2012
Findlay, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Tanzania, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Level Contributor
12,484 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Some ideas for a Phtoto safari in Serengeti - Help

Some would say that the best time to visit the Serengeti is in February, when the wildebeests are having their calves in the Ndutu area.

The distance from the Masai Mara to the Serengeti is 0 km as they are one and the same and run into each other. However, you cannot cross from one to the other, you must go to a border crossing and pass through immigration. This makes it an all day drive.

Crane Lake...
Level Contributor
536 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Some ideas for a Phtoto safari in Serengeti - Help

To answer your second question, the camera equipment you listed will do fine. You will find the 300/f4 does a good job. You might find yourself switching more than you like back to the other lens to get wider landscape pictures and when animals are nearer to you and the animals will BE REAL NEAR TO YOU.

CS

NEPEAN
Level Contributor
2 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply