We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tips for Travel

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Tips for Travel

I am going to Dar in August, it is my first time in Africa and I am nervous yet extremely excited!

Does anyone have any tips on etiquette (obviously common street sense and respect apply) but maybe on things that I should bring with me.

I am a vegetarian - any thoughts on places to eat?

Also, what are the "must-sees"?

Thanks for any help!

melbourne
Destination Expert
for Tanzania
Level Contributor
7,352 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Tips for Travel

There is a large population of Indian origin as such there are plenty of really good vegetarian places to eat. Eating out vegetarian will be the least of your worries.

If you have time try a side trip to Saadani. beach and wildlife. Also try and find some of Karls's posts about cheap trips to Mikumi with cultural activites thrown in. Those posts will give you some good ideas.

Findlay, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Tanzania, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Level Contributor
12,485 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Tips for Travel

I am assuming that you meant things to see and do in Dar while you are there. If you look over on the right hand side of the posts you will find a list of Top Questions, one of which is for things to do in Dar es Salaam.

If you would like to do an inexpensive safari while you are in Dar then read the Right hand side items on taking a trip to Mikumi, you can do this very inexpensively.

As for tips on getting along in Tz, just be yourself and use your usual etiquette.

Findlay, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Tanzania, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Level Contributor
12,485 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Tips for Travel