We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

tanzania travel - volunteering

Louisiana
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
tanzania travel - volunteering

I'm wondering if anyone has tips on which months would be the best for volunteering in Tanzania, probably Dar es Salaam. I'll be there for about 6 weeks, and I'm trying to decide whether to go in June & July or August & September. The weather and the fact that it is peak season are making me hesitant about June & July. Any suggestions?? I'd also like to get some travel in there either before or after volunteer work. I'm hoping to visit Rwanda (Kigali) and Kenya, as well as getting in a safari. Any advice? For example, I'm not sure how much time to dedicate to the side trips, Rwanda and a safari. By the way .. I'm traveling alone also, and it is my first time in Africa.

Findlay, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Tanzania, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Level Contributor
12,485 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: tanzania travel - volunteering

TFletch... I'm not certain that I fully understand your question(s). The weather is generally seen as better in June/July then other months as Dar can get very hot during their summer months. But perhaps since you're from Louisiana you might be accustomed to hot weather. Being on the coast, Dar can get some rain almost any time.