We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AAdvantage AAniversary promotional award rates

Saint Louis...
Level Contributor
341 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
AAdvantage AAniversary promotional award rates

First - in case you didn't know, American's frequent flyer program, AAdvantage, is celebrating its 25th anniversary. One of the promotions is a 25% discount on the number of miles it takes to get award tickets to Hawaii. Rules are that you have to book during May, and travel between August 22 and November 8.

I'm hoping that this helps you guys out, and I'm also sort of hoping that it costs American some money. You see, I'm sort of peeved at them.

I booked my AAdvantage award flight on April 14th. ORD to OGG and back. I've been sitting on these miles for 10 years, waiting for just the right time to use them.

Two weeks later they announced this promotion. And yes, I am flying in September, so I would have qualified.

Then, on May 7, American cancelled the ORD->OGG flight (thanks to TA member pemarsh for alerting me). I checked my reservations, and they had changed my flight, without telling me, to go through DFW. They also gave us middle seats on both flights to and from Maui - all the window seats were gone.

So technically, my flight wasn't ticketed in April. That flight is gone. The flight I have was ticketed in May. By American. Without my knowledge. But whatever.