We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

car rental via craigslist

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Topic
car rental via craigslist

Hi All,

I'm new to tripadvisor and I want to first say thank you all your postings about traveling to Hawaii.

Now, I'm hoping you can help me with this. I was searching for a vacation home on craigslist, but saw a listing for car rentals $20/day. I don't have to make an payment until I see them on the day of arrival. How legit do you think this is? The person said the cars are around the year 2000 and are either Camry, Mazda 626, or Honda Accord. They are automatic and with A/C.

Thanks for your help!

California
Level Contributor
35,222 posts
118 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: car rental via craigslist

I'm a big CL user but I wouldn't do it for a car. It might be someone trying to rent their car and what about insurance etc. You can go with a ligit company and pay $20/day so why bother with a fly by night operation? Besides a car that is 12 years old (on Kauai) is probably pretty beat up.

Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2,594 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: car rental via craigslist

A private party CL car rental on Kauai can indeed be a very unpleasant experience.

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: car rental via craigslist

I did ask about insurance but they said it was included in the price. They also said that you just have to fill the gas back to where it was when you got it. It does seem slightly sketchy.

I just havent found a car rental near $20/day, even for a compact or economy car. But I don't want to be stuck with a junker/clunker.

thanks for the advice! :)

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: car rental via craigslist