We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

best gardens to see

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
best gardens to see

I'll be going to the North Shore for a week in late June and am interested in seeing the best (1 or 2) gardens that the North has to offer, as I know this is what Kauai is famous for.

If I was going to spend a day exploring the gardens where should I head??

Thanks so much.

Natalie

Saint Cloud...
Destination Expert
for Oahu
Level Contributor
26,503 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: best gardens to see

I'm not a Kauai expert, but here's a list of gardens that might help:

http://www.hawaii.edu/sciref/botgarden.html

Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8,506 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: best gardens to see

Natalie

Don't know that you need to spend an entire day, but please look into Limahuli Gardens, and the guided tour. Very interesting and quite beautiful.

the tour that we originally went on ( guided ) not only presented the information on the gardens, but local kauai mythology. This was years ago. I was so impressed that we purchased a book at the gift shop called KAUAI TALES.

Limahuli Gardens is located up on the NORTH shore, on the mauka side more toward the end of the road. be sure to call them for reservations.

We have recently taken the unguided tour, but there was lots of magic in the original guided and narrated walk.

Other than the gardens, You can spend days exploring the beautiful north shore, as it really is a unique and marvelous work of nature.

Honestly, no matter where you look, moutains, beaches, or trails, it is fantastic. To us, it reminds us of french polynesia, the islands of Tahiti.

You will be very pleased.

Denny

Gig Harbor...
Level Contributor
4,157 posts
166 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: best gardens to see