We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to stay?

Kitchener, Canada
11 posts
Save Topic
Where to stay?

I am looking for any advice! I am just beginning my research of planning an end of Feb 2014 trip to the Big Island. We stayed in Maui Feb 2013 and got married there, and we loved it. I am dying to go to Kauai but I have read that the best weather in February is the Big Island and it is not the greatest in Kauai.

I don't have a cost per night, but I have already seen the Four Seasons on the Big Island is way out of our budget. I have looked at Waikoloa Beach Marriott and that seems nice, along with the Sheraton Kona. We are flying from Toronto for 9 nights and I'd like to keep flight and hotel under 5000$.

What is the best area to stay at the end of Feb? We love to explore but I would like to stay at a nice beach area, with access to dining/a bit of shopping maybe. We also don't mind driving distances to see all the beautiful sights.

Any info is greatly appreciated!

tjackson55
Level Contributor
70 posts
Save Reply
11. Re: Where to stay?

Yes I am the same person.. I had problems with my account and had to create another, no idea how my computer still has the old one logged in. Sorry for the confusion.

How is the Hilton?

I read reviews that Mauna Lani Bay Hotel Is lovely but outdated? What hotel would you say is more up to date? I'm just comparing all my options right now

Big Island, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Island of Hawaii
Level Contributor
27,915 posts
76 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Where to stay?

The Hilton would be my last choice on the Kohala Coast. No beach or ocean access, tragic captive dolphins, lots of screaming kids, nothing Hawaiiana at all.