We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Cay Review

Which Utila hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
pnwtoc
Level Contributor
94 posts
121 reviews
Save Topic
Little Cay Review

Here’s my review of Little Cay. We only spent two days there in December.

Little to no swimmer’s beach: If you are expecting lots of great sand to walk around or lay out on, it’s not there. As with much of the Caribbean, the “beach” is pretty much all rock. You’ll need to bring water shoes for pretty much the entire time. You can’t really walk anywhere (on the island, on the beach, or in the water) without shoes.

Offsetting this by far though is the water and snorkeling. The colors of the water are gorgeous. Turquois like you would see in Cozumel. The underwater life is really great (granted I’m an amateur snorkeler so take it for what it’s worth). The thing that I thought was really great was how easy it was to get to see some pretty great stuff. You can go down off the ladder at the end of the northeast pier and just lower yourself into the water and see some great fish, plants, and coral. So even if you aren’t comfortable swimming you can just hold onto the ladder and still have some of the experience. Off the south side of the island, you can walk out several feet where the water is just 3 to 4 feet deep and stick your head underneath and see some good fish. Butterfly fish for example. There’s plenty more for the more adventurous but I’m just trying to make the point that even if you aren’t very comfortable with the water there will be some opportunity for you.