We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belize or Jamaica??

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
2 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Belize or Jamaica??

Hello All!

I am a female college student planning a solo trip this summer for about 2 weeks on a budget. Based on all my research I've narrowed it down to either Belize of Jamaica. Both are beautiful and are within my price range in terms of flight rates. The only problem is, I am having a hard time deciding on which one?!? I'll be staying at a hostel(s) and am interested in beautiful beaches, snorkeling, hiking, exploring, meeting new people, adventure, etc.

Any helpful advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,480 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Belize or Jamaica??

My personal body guard is on stress leave . So i would have to go with Belize. You just have to be a little more discreet. ::))

Brooklyn, New York
2 posts
Save Reply
12. Re: Belize or Jamaica??

Belize is the destination for you. There are so many things to do--on the coast and within the country. Is climbing the Maya ruins comparable to hiking for you? Everyone is so friendly--the natives and your fellow tourists. You will meet many people from all over the world exploring and enjoying the scenery. And, everyone speaks English so it is easy to travel around.

Try to go in early July because it can be hot, rainy, and humid the later you go. I normally stay in San Ignacio, one of Belize's largest cities (population around 7,000). I pay $59 American per night at Martha's Guest House--very clean accommodations and very nice and trustworthy people. They feel like my second family. They also have a restaurant downstairs, but there are less expensive places to stay and restaurants to eat in than at Martha's if you need to go cheaper in San Ignacio.