We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Washington DC Jan 2013 - presidential inauguration

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
29 reviews
Save Topic
Washington DC Jan 2013 - presidential inauguration

Hi,

I am a student from Australia and I am going to be in the States in January and I really want to go to the presidential inauguration in D.C. I know that there will be a lot going on at the time, but how busy do you think it will be? And will all the museums, memorials, ect, in the days leading up to and after be open?

I was also looking at the Amtrak website and they have bumper up there prices to at least $149 each way. This is a bit on the pricey side for me, as I am a student and travelling on a budget. I looked up buses which are much cheaper ($30 each way) but they take 4.5 hours. Are there any other options?

My only other main concern is going there, and it being absolutely packed and overcrowded with people.

I am looking at going from around the 18-22 of Jan

Thanks

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
20,601 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Washington DC Jan 2013 - presidential inauguration