We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iwo Jima (Marine Memorial)

austin texas
Level Contributor
114 posts
Save Topic
Iwo Jima (Marine Memorial)

Is the Marine Memorial still under construction? Is it viewable? How do I go to see it without doing one of the Tour buses? Fit and love to walk. Evening? Safety? Single older woman! Thanks

Maryland
Destination Expert
for Las Vegas, Washington DC, County Donegal, Western Ireland
Level Contributor
55,157 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Iwo Jima (Marine Memorial)

Iwo Jima memorial has been finished for decades as far as I know. I've been visiting it with out of town relatives since the mid 1960's but I'm not aware of any recent construction.

You could walk there from Rosslyn Metro station, you can get a general idea of the walk from this map:

stationmasters.com/System_Map/…rosslyns.html

(Look at the very bottom of the map for the reference for the memorial)

I've never walked to it, it may actually be closer to the Arlington Cemetery station but I'm sure someone more local can advise.

I wouldn't worry about visiting in the late afternoon or early evening, I'm assuming you're not going to be taking a walk around the place at 10:00 at night!

Washington, DC
Destination Expert
for Washington DC
Level Contributor
2,163 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Iwo Jima (Marine Memorial)

I've walked there many a summer evening from the Rosslyn Metro Station (the path from Arlington Cemetery is too dangerous and unfamiliar for a tourist). It's a fairly safe walk through the evening (follow the commuters), although there are a lot of bushes and the path back to the Metro isn't well-lit at night.