We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Snowboard trip to VT?

Level Contributor
138 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
First Snowboard trip to VT?

I live in Toronto and was thinking about taking a ski/snowboard trip out to Vermont towards the end of February.

I consider myself a good skiier, but just learned snowboarding this year (but have picked it up pretty good...)

Thinking about driving out there and Stowe is the name I'm most familiar with, but I also hear it's the most expensive. Should I go there, given I am not an expert snowboarder and may not get "full value"? Since I'm driving, is there really any point in considering hitting multiple resorts, or just enjoy one this time around?

Lastly - how long should I plan the trip to be? Or rather - how many days should I plan to be on the slopes (and I will extrapolate travel/etc. time from that...)

Edited: 9:26 pm, February 26, 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Destination Expert
for North Conway
Level Contributor
12,146 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First Snowboard trip to VT?

Stowe has most apres ski. Otherwise doesn't matter. How long? I like a week but that's up to you? If you have a few days you can mix it up with another mountain. No best answer

Ormond Beach...
Destination Expert
for Vermont, Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
8,493 posts
88 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: First Snowboard trip to VT?

Maybe Jay would be a good option. They typically have the best natural snow, and it would be a bit closer drive for you. Then if you want to try another mountain, Smugglers Notch is a ~1 hr drive.

Ormond Beach...
Destination Expert
for Vermont, Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
8,493 posts
88 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: First Snowboard trip to VT?