We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One Day trip to Vermont - Aug 11th, 2013

Manchester...
4 posts
Save Topic
One Day trip to Vermont - Aug 11th, 2013

Hey,

I have one day and I stay in Manchester, CT. I'm new to this side of the country and I gotta know that Vermont is very beautiful and a must visit. Need advice on what I can cover in a day. As mentioned in my subject line, I'm planning on Aug 11, 2013.

Thanks a lot.

LuckyN

Burlington, Vermont
Destination Expert
for Burlington
Level Contributor
2,504 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: One Day trip to Vermont - Aug 11th, 2013

If you are staying in Machester, CT, which is near Hartford, you could drive north on I-91 and be to the southern border of Vermont in a little over an hour. As for what you do, I guess it depends on what types of things you're interested in. Hike, shop, restaurants?

Manchester...
4 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: One Day trip to Vermont - Aug 11th, 2013

I'm not a sporty kind of a person. I'd rather prefer to visit some scenic places, restaurants, amusements parks, etc.

Burlington, Vermont
Destination Expert
for Burlington
Level Contributor
2,504 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: One Day trip to Vermont - Aug 11th, 2013

You probably want to head for Brattleboro, given it's a straight shot up I-91 from where you will be in Connecticut. It's a nice little town where you could spend an hour or so, and grab some lunch, check out a few shops. From there, I'm not sure. Route 9 towards Bennington is a very scenic drive, but it's kind of going in the wrong direction if you have to get back to CT that evening. I guess you could go all the way over to Bennington, then drive south on Route 7 to I-90 and take that back to I-91. That would be quite a bit of driving but it would take you through a nice scenic section of Vermont.