We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camping near Minneapolis

Rapid City, South...
Level Contributor
502 posts
107 reviews
Save Topic
Camping near Minneapolis

I'm just beginning to research this idea. Our kids live in Minneapolis, and we thought it would be easier for them if they didn't have far to drive to meet us for a weekend of tent camping. A weekend for them, 2 other long travel days for us.

We like hiking and a swim beach or canoe renting would be good.

I have found this site:

http://www.threeriversparkdistrict.org/parks/

Does anyone have any favorites? Or better suggestions?

Minneapolis...
Destination Expert
for Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4,711 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Camping near Minneapolis

I'm not sure how many of those parks have camping and other things you're looking for.

Have a look at this link.

www.dnr.state.mn.us/state_parks/index.html

I like to canoe the St. Croix in the Dalles near Taylor's Falls. There's a campground at Interstate State Park, one of the most scenic locations in MN if you ask me. Canie rental available. Not sure about beaches because it's a river and they want to avoid liability. But you can rent canoes and camp.

About 1h20 from Minneapolis (NE).

A closer option is William O'Brien.

minneapolis
Destination Expert
for Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,199 posts
202 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Camping near Minneapolis

I'm not very experienced with this, but there are several regional parks in the burbs that offer camping. Here's the link, you'll have to do the research though: http://www.threeriversparkdistrict.org/

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
46 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Camping near Minneapolis