We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oct 7-Oct 18: Will it be past peak for fall foliage?

malaysia
Level Contributor
101 posts
Save Topic
Oct 7-Oct 18: Will it be past peak for fall foliage?

Hi everyone!

I have no experience of Fall in New England, but based on my research, I had the uncomfortable feeling that I would be travelling the wrong way on this tour for the peak color. A link to the trip map is on tauck.com/tours/usa-tours/new-england-travel…

Trip Itinerary :

Oct 7 Arrive Boston

Oct 8 Boston...

Oct 9 Lexington & Concord, and on to Williamstown

Oct 10 Stockbridge & Lenox in the Berkshires

Oct 11 Bennington, Shelburne & Stowe, Vermont

Oct 12 The Green Mountains to the White Mountains

Oct 13 The view from Mount Washington

Oct 14 Portland, Maine

Oct 15 Boothbay & on to Bar Harbor

Oct 16 Bar Harbor & Acadia National Park

Oct 17 Ogunquit, the beautiful place by the sea

Oct 18 Journey home

I don't want to shell out a lot of money, just to see stick season, but am limited to travelling this period of time, so wonder if I should visit New England or book for another part of the country. I would love to experience the wonderful color palette of Fall , if this were a good time to visit, based on the above itinerary

Looking forward to your advice

Central Maine
Destination Expert
for Maine
Level Contributor
7,178 posts
157 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Oct 7-Oct 18: Will it be past peak for fall foliage?

There is never a "guarantee" as to the calendar dates for the "best" fall foliage at any particular location in New England. But if you look at recent history, all may not be lost....