We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alaska Trip 2013

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
683 posts
25 reviews
Save Topic
Alaska Trip 2013

I'm just beginning to plan a trip to Alaska for 2013. Never been there before. I'll have 13 days, possibly more, total including days flying to and from Seattle. Thinking about taking a cruise from Seattle or Vancouver. Would like to take a day trip to Brooks River Falls to see the bears. Would also like to see wildlife and landscapes in Denali as well as whales (not in Denali :) ) . I'll be traveling solo and I would like to do as much photography as possible. Open to suggestions regarding time of year, specific cruises, places to see, places to eat, and even train rides. In general, I like to travel after Labor Day, but the criteria above is more important.

I'll start doing my research and thanks for your replies. Tripadvisor has always been a great resource for planning my previous trips.

Edited: 2:42 am, December 12, 2012
Greater Sydney...
Level Contributor
15,803 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Alaska Trip 2013

G'day Gary,

While others sleep I will advise that if you do consider a cruise that would have to be from Vancouver as only round trip Inside Passage sailings leave from Seattle. No big deal though as I understand that the Amtrak trip between Seattle and Vancouver is very scenic and would, I think, be a bit cheaper than flying into Vancouver from where you are located. For a one-way cruise I think that both Princess and HAL have the best itineraries.

I do not have first hand knowledge of south central Alaska but am sure that others will be along tomorrow with advice.

WestSlope,CO
Destination Expert
for Colorado
Level Contributor
10,112 posts
166 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Alaska Trip 2013