We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 weeks in Budapest

Boston
1 post
3 weeks in Budapest

Hi, I'm a medical student going to the Semmelweis University of Medicine from Mid-April to the first week of May. I was wondering if anyone can help with any suggestions on where to start looking for cheap short-term housing in the area?

I'm also planning to go to Greece, Italy, Spain, and France in the 2 weeks following, and I was wondering if anyone had any good ideas on how best to travel? Should I fly? Should I take the train? Should I drive?

Basically I'm flying out rather spontaneously as this will be my last chance to travel in quite a bit, and am trying to find my way. Any help would be greatly appreciated! ^______^

Budapest, Hungary
Destination Expert
for Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13,023 posts
64 reviews
1. Re: 3 weeks in Budapest

Frankly I would drop at least one of the other countries - you will get little enough time to appreciate them if there are 3, let alone 4. Each transfer will take at least half a day even if you fly, which takes 2 days out of your 14.

Also, where exactly in Greece/ Spain etc. The capitals ? the sea ? mountains ?

Doylestown...
Level Contributor
1,812 posts
553 reviews
2. Re: 3 weeks in Budapest

Have you considered exploring Hungary rather than visiting other countries? I say this because your money will go much much further in regional Hungary than either Italy, Greece or Spain. Some destinations worth considering out of Budapest for the weekend include:

- Eger

- Sopron and Eszterhazy palace

- Pecs

- Veszprem and Balatonfured