We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to approach Patagonia from Santiago?

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
How to approach Patagonia from Santiago?

I am a Dane, having bypassed to 70's of age, however, still in a rather good physical condition, have travelled in a lot of countries, and have now booked a trip to Santiago, where I shall arrive (solo traveler) one of the last days in October this year. A visit to the Atacama dessert with a 4-5 days stay have already been booked. So far so good. I must travel back to Denmark again from Santiago on November 29th. Meanwhile I would like to see the Patagionian "icons", but I have no knowledge whatsoever about how to spend the 3 weeks, what to see there, and how to come to the most attractive places, preferably to AIRPORTS rather close to them. I am not traveling as a backpacker/tent etc - have done that sufficiently years ago, but I have no problems walking in general.

My trip to Patagonia has first and foremost a photographic scope, however, I have not been able to trace specific photo-tours to Patagonia in the month of November this year. So it seems as if I will have to travel alone, and it's also alright for me.

The places mentioned below are such which I would like to see - amongst others, which you, dear readers, might suggest:

Palena/Aysén (a.o. Volcan Michinmahuida)

Lago Carrera (The Marble Caverns etc)

Chacabuco Valley

Torres de Paine (Perito Moreno)