We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How scary is rafting?

Which Queenstown hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
sydney
3 posts
Save Topic
How scary is rafting?

Hello,

I am considering going white water rafting when I visit Queenstown as it seems like an amazing experience. However, I am a complete novice and a bit of a scaredy cat. Can anyone advise on which river would be best for a nervous nelly and which businesses are recommended? Or should I just forget it and try quieter activities? Any advice would be most appreciated.

Nervous nelly

New Zealand
Level Contributor
9,310 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How scary is rafting?

You want rapids that are graded 2-3, do not go for grades 4-5 you will scare yourself @$#%less!!!!

New Zealand
Level Contributor
9,310 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How scary is rafting?

Real Journeys has a Kawarau Rafting option on this site that may suit you;

www.realjourneys.co.nz/Main/RiverRafting/

sydney
3 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: How scary is rafting?

Thanks so much Zappers. I did not have much idea of what the grades meant, so will look out for 2-3's. I had a look at Real Journeys and it sounds good.

Cheers.

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
25 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: How scary is rafting?