We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What's so bad about Naked Bus?

Canada
Level Contributor
44 posts
What's so bad about Naked Bus?

I've read other discussion threads about Intercity Bus vs. Naked Bus, and everyone seems to prefer Intercity Bus because it's more reliable and the buses are nicer. Should Naked Bus be avoided at all costs? What's so bad about it -- do buses get cancelled at the last minute, do they always arrive late, are they hideously uncomfortable, etc.? Is it the Ryanair of buses?

Sometimes the price difference is quite stark: I just bought a $1 busride from Wanaka to Franz Josef, while the Intercity Bus sells tickets for the same day for $46 (non-refundable) or $91 (refundable). Since it's my first time in NZ, I'm looking for busrides that not only take me from A to B, but are also scenic and enjoyable. Should I pay extra to take the Intercity instead?

(Speaking of which, do the buses that run from Wanaka - Franz Josef or Franz Josef-Nelson take a scenic route, ie. what's been called "the most scenic drive in the world"?)

Thanks.

Wellington, New...
Destination Expert
for Wellington, Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
10,281 posts
226 reviews
1. Re: What's so bad about Naked Bus?

Naked Bus as far as I am advised caters for the 20 somethings and backpackers who are more concerned about cost than comfort and timetables. Intercity is a "Commuter" bus company who cater for the more serious and comfort concious traveller.

2nd tier bus companies are similar in some respects to 2nd tier car rental companies. If you want the cream then be prepared to pay for it. If you want a lower level and quality of service then the 2nd tier operator will meet your needs.

New Zealand
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
30,065 posts
93 reviews