We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wifi/3G

Which Paihia hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Reading
Level Contributor
283 posts
15 reviews
Save Topic
Wifi/3G

We are visiting soon and taking a recently bought 3G iPad in which we are complete novices, also planning to buy an NZ pay as you go SIM card for a separate phone. Can anyone advise on:

a) which network has best coverage in Northland

b) would we better waiting until we get there to NZ to buy SIMs for both rather than doing it before leaving the UK

c) if yes to question b, better to do it at Auckland airport where we'll have a few of hours to kill or when we get to Paihia?

Thanks

Rarotonga, Cook...
Destination Expert
for Rarotonga, Waiheke Island, Southern Cook Islands, Auckland
Level Contributor
11,303 posts
110 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Wifi/3G

Hi Phil,

Im on a Vodafone prepay mobile (same SIM card for almost 10 years) and i have good coverage around Northland (my permanent base) as well as the rest of the North island and Australia. Ive used the same connection to txt from Christchurch with equally good results. You can purchase Vodafone SIMs easily once you enter the arrivals (public) area at Auckland International. If you dont manage to purchase a SIM and topup at international, the Domestic terminal sells Vodafone SIMS etc. Easy to buy a prepay topup in BOI outlets also.

Reading
Level Contributor
283 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Wifi/3G

Thanks very much. We'll have four days in Sydney on the way home, I hadn't thought.about using the same SIMs in both places.

Whangarei, Northland
Destination Expert
for Auckland, Whangarei
Level Contributor
2,647 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Wifi/3G