We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1 day layover in Auckland - what should we do there?

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
1 day layover in Auckland - what should we do there?

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, but I always read others' posts, and they are so helpful!

My husband and I are heading to Australia, but we have a full day layover in Auckland. We are getting in around 6 am, and need to be back at the airport by 4.

Any suggestions on what we should definitely do in that time? We were going to go to the Sky Tower, but everything else is up in the air.

Also, we would love some suggestions on how to get around. Should we rent a car for the day? Will they accept US licenses?Or if we do a tour, what would you recommend? We looked into Explorer Bus, but that's about it so far.

We would really appreciate any advice you could give - we are leaving in 5 days, and starting to panic a bit!!!

Thank you so much!

Lauren

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1,474 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: 1 day layover in Auckland - what should we do there?

Sorry, I can't offer too many suggestions of things to do; I was only in Auckland for a day myself, and spent most of it trying to stay awake as long as possible. Keep in mind that you will be jetlagged and probably very tired when you arrive. (I'd recommend bringing a large bottle of water on the flight, as the air is very dry. I went through my 1L bottle in addition to the water offered by the flight attendants, and was still thirsty!)