We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?

California
Level Contributor
9,618 posts
73 reviews
Save Topic
Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?

I get conflicting locations when I search for this. I'm looking for a short hike in a tunnel with Glowworms. Some sites indicate it's slightly north of Lawrence on Munro Road, east of SH8. Other sites show it west of SH8 between Milton and Lawrence. I'm assuming I'm getting two answers because it's either end of the tunnel. But if wanting to explore and see glowworms (as the rankers.com review suggests), which end is it?

Colorado
Destination Expert
for Western Australia
Level Contributor
3,481 posts
296 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?

I have no first hand knowledge of this, but to make matters more confusing, I did a search and found that the tunnel is also known at the Mt Stuart Tunnel and the Glenore Tunnel.

Assuming these are one and the same, this might help:

milton-district.co.nz/mount-stuart-tunnel/

Wellington, NZ
Destination Expert
for Wellington
Level Contributor
2,345 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?

And this might be useful: wonderwalkers.co.nz/default,2441,mt-stuart-p…

Colorado
Destination Expert
for Western Australia
Level Contributor
3,481 posts
296 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?

Also found this:

En route to Lawrence, take time to view the Mount Stuart Rail Tunnel (Manuka Gorge). Well sign posted and easily accessible, this track is administered by the Department of Conservation and is part of the old Central Otago, Milton to Roxburgh branch railway line. As an added attraction the hushed darkness of the Tunnel, glimmers with glow-worms!

California
Level Contributor
9,618 posts
73 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Where is Manuka Gorge Tunnel?