We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne roadtrip itinerary..need advice pls!

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 posts
29 reviews
Save Topic
Melbourne roadtrip itinerary..need advice pls!

Hi,

Will be traveling to Melbourne in the last week of May. I have done a draft itinerary and would really appreciate your kind advice if this is good since its my first time there.

1st Day:

reach Melbourne in the morning (start roadtrip) - visit Apollo Bay & Port Fairy

Stay overnight at Port Fairy (any affordable hostel recommendations??)

2nd Day:

Drive from Port Fairy to Grampians

(overnight at Grampians -> any gd affordable hostel/apartment recommendations??)

3rd Day:

Explore Grampians full day

4th Day:

Drive from Grampians to Ballarat Wildlife Park

From Ballarat drive back to Melbourne city

The rest of the days, I am planning to explore the city area and Melbourne. Btw, is Daylesford worth it for a visit? My friend recommended to visit that place but I am not sure what is really nice to see/do over there. Anyone know?

Gungahlin, Australia
Destination Expert
for Canberra
Level Contributor
15,698 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Melbourne roadtrip itinerary..need advice pls!

The whole GOR all the way to Port Fairy on the first day? What time are you arriving? Did you want to see anything else along the way apart from Apollo Bay? (And why Apollo Bay?)

Darwin, Australia
Destination Expert
for Darwin
Level Contributor
4,528 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Melbourne roadtrip itinerary..need advice pls!

Days 1 and 2 are too busy. With the distances involved you will not have time to see anything. You need to add another day to your GOR trip so you can enjoy it.

Oz
Level Contributor
13,092 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Melbourne roadtrip itinerary..need advice pls!

Hi,