We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Living in Mt Eliza - too far from Melbourne?

Which Melbourne hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
DG2
SE London
Level Contributor
32 posts
Save Topic
Living in Mt Eliza - too far from Melbourne?

I am an Australian citizen that wishes to return from the UK and live in Melbourne again. We are thinking about Mt Eliza since as a teacher I can get work within a 30km radius. What is it really like there? Is it too far to get into Carlton for good Italian food? I have not been there since a school camp in 1973!

Glenlyon, Australia
Level Contributor
4,180 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Living in Mt Eliza - too far from Melbourne?

It is a nice rural/semi rural area on the Mornington Peninsula - so for work its definately a good location and your near a major shopping centre in Frankston. What is you exact location for work or may that vary?

However, you do need to get yur priorities right. I know that if I was working 5 days week being closer to work is more important that a maybe once a week trip to Carlton for dinner. Is it 2 far - yes maybe as travel would prob be an hour to Carlton (maybe slightly shorter outside depedning on time of day). You culd live closer into the city (Chelsea/ Parkdale/ Mordialloc)and still be in relavtively good commuter times of the MP and a lot closer to Carlton (or inner Melbourne).

But look at it this way - you live in Carlton just for the food but commute 5 days a week to the Morningotn Peninsula- I know which I prefer.

Melbourne
Level Contributor
3,247 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Living in Mt Eliza - too far from Melbourne?

DG2