We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

England
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

I am a qualified nurse with 20 yrs experience in renal and cardiology. My family and i are thinking of emigrating to Australia. Would I find work easily? My husband is a firefighter with 19 yrs experience would he be able to get a job as a firefighter? or would he need a change of career?

Any advice gratefully received.

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Sydney, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Business Travel, New South Wales
Level Contributor
30,378 posts
1,537 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

I highly suggest you place this on Melb forum.......just search for Wilino......he will give you the best advice.

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2,578 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

I think will must be at the snow...haven't seen sight nor sound of him for ages.

Anyway, in short, as a nurse you will absolutely be able to get work...my SIL is a nurse...she's changed jobs 3 times in the past 18 mths to find soemthing that suit "mum with 2 young kids" barely waiting a week bwetween each! Im sure you'll have no trouble whatsoever IMO.

Can't provide any comment on your husbands career...though I suspect it will be much harder for him.

Good luck with the move!

Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
59 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

jufry - have a look on www.pomsinoz.com. Great advice on there about emigrating, employment etc. It's been a godsend.

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
483 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Nurse coming to Melbourne or Sydney

Hi