We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need advice on Grampians/Little Desert/Murray Sunset

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 posts
Save Topic
Need advice on Grampians/Little Desert/Murray Sunset

Hi everybody,

I'm a physicist from Bordeaux, France, now living in Melbourne (since august 2011) as a post-doc. I'm planning to go on a trip around Australia in late february/early march 2012 with 3 friends from Bordeaux coming here for 18 days. This time of year being the wet season in the tropical North, we're gonna focus on Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, the red center, with 3 main parts, and I need your help :

From Victoria we're gonna drive through the great ocean road, but afterwards we're gonna head to Adelaïde. The question is : do we go through Grampians National Park, Little Desert and Murray Sunset NP, or do we follow the coastline and try Lower Glenelg NP and maybe Coorong NP ? Which one would be the most scenic drive ? We would only have one day or two so where should we stop ?

Is it possible to have a worthwhile experience of the Grampians in just one day ? On the book I have, Explore Australia's National Parks, they don't recommend the Grampians in the summer, Spring and Autumn apparently are better time to visit it. Do you agree ?

Little Desert NP doesn't seem very diverse, and it might still be hot to do some bushwalking there in march. Murray Sunset seems more interesting, but even hotter. What do you think ? It's hard to find some reviews of those parks, people are more focused on the Grampians usually or on the coast, I hope somebody who did Little Desert and Murray Sunset can help me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Uden, The...
Level Contributor
60,942 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Need advice on Grampians/Little Desert/Murray Sunset

Hi