We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st time travel to Tasmania - 4 days 3 nights

Singapore
6 posts
Save Topic
1st time travel to Tasmania - 4 days 3 nights

Hi all, this is my first time travel to Tasmania with my husband. I'm planning a 4 days 3 nights in Tasmania. Will arrive at Hobart on 19/08/09, morning and leaving on 22/08/09, morning.

We hope to travel from Hobart to Cradle Mount, wonder whether is possible. And if so, what is the driving time because we are planning to hire a car at Hobart.

Please give me some ideas on places best to travel due to our limited day stay in Tasmania.

Thanks

Gungahlin, Australia
Destination Expert
for Canberra
Level Contributor
15,224 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 1st time travel to Tasmania - 4 days 3 nights

You can drive from Hobart to Cradle Mountain but be warned the roads can be winding and the distances can be deceptive and it can take longer than you think. 4 days isn't very long for a visit to Tasmania. Please watch out for animals on the roads, and observe the strict speed limits such as along the road from the visitors centre to the Cradle Mountain carpark, or take the shuttle minibus instead. Oh, I just realised you're coming in August. Then you might have snow to contend with too. If the main thing you are interested in is Cradle Mountain then it would be better to fly to Launceston instead of Hobart.

Singapore
6 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: 1st time travel to Tasmania - 4 days 3 nights

Thanks for the advice. The Cradle Mountain is not the main destination but it seems like is one of the must go attraction from the web. Unfortunately i have booked the air-tickets and landed at Hobart. So, looks like I have no choice to make do with it this time.