We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Migrating to Australia

Which Adelaide hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
United Kingdom
4 posts
Save Topic
Migrating to Australia

My wife and I are half-way through our application to migrate. I have just been skills assessed by the TRA as a Flat Glass Tradeperson. We hope to be in Adelaide by the end of 2006 and would be grateful for any information anyone could give us re. Adelaide schools, housing, suburbs to settle, family communities etc. We are desperate to get away from our London suburb hustle/bustle, graffiti strewn area etc. We want somewhere quiet, easy access to jobs, schools and good quality family life. Please can anyone provide info. re. jobs in the Glass Industry for my skills - I have 23 years experience in the trade. We hear conflicting stories in the UK that SA are doing a recruitment drive and require certain skills on the Skills Occupation List (of which mine is) and then struggle to find jobs on the websites issued by our agents. Please can anyone curb our fears that once we are in SA, we will struggle to find a job. Our kids are aged 8 and 16 years and having never been to Australia are feeling anxious but excited at the same time. It is a big step for any family.

sydney,aust.
Level Contributor
1,304 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Migrating to Australia

I am not going to speculate on the job front but....

aldinga is a delightful beachside place just to the south of adelaide with the maclaren vale wine growing area in the hinterland.Great sunsets over the gulf.

My brother lives at port noarlunga and my niece goes to a good school in the countryside called tatachilla.imho it is a great place to live.You won't miss new cross at all.