We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fly/Rail Tickets

Which Kandersteg hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Forth Valley...
Level Contributor
33 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Fly/Rail Tickets

Hi

Going to book a weeks holiday in Kandersteg over the New Year period, wondering which is the easier option ie. from Geneva or Zurich by train and any info on getting luggage direct to hotel via Swiss Rail, would be great if we could put luggage on plane at Edinburgh and not see it until arrival at hotel in Kandersteg does anyone know if this can be done? all info would be appreciated...

thanks BJ

Mannheim, Germany
Destination Expert
for Zurich, Mannheim
Level Contributor
13,713 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Fly/Rail Tickets

I have no experience on Fly/Rail baggage handling - hope Swandav or Kileysmom or others will share their experience. It should work from Scotland (within EU)...

As to the trains - you will ned to change once no matter whether from Geneva or Zürich airports.

www.sbb.ch

or

To: Kandersteg

There used to be direct connecions from Zürich airport but now the trains to Brig go through the new Lötschberg base tunnel 600 m below Kandersteg.

Basel, Switzerland
Destination Expert
for Switzerland
Level Contributor
3,544 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Fly/Rail Tickets

have a look here for info:

mct.sbb.ch/mct/…flyrail-baggage.htm

My personal advise, without any experience whatsoever, is that since it will be New Year time (and since you might be travelling through Heathrow) and because of all these counter terrorist (or whatever) measures, pick up your lugagge in Zürich yourself and then send them from Zürich to your destination in Kandersteg:

mct.sbb.ch/mct/…reisegepaeck-schweiz.htm

tak

Anchorage, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Anchorage, Zermatt