We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

individual VS group ski lessons?

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 post
7 reviews
Save Topic
individual VS group ski lessons?

My husband and I and our 3 teenage sons (18, 16 &13) are travelling to Livigno for a week over christmas for our first ever ski holiday/experience. Since we have never skied before, i am not too sure whether to book private or group ski lessons? Private lessons are given by one teacher for 4 days either from 9-11 or from 13-15. Group lessons are offered from Sunday to Friday from 11-13. I have also read that a buying a full adult ski pass for complete beginners is not often necessary, as it might be a while before we get to use the lifts?

I wonder if anyone might be able to offer me any advice?

Italy
Level Contributor
39,484 posts
206 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: individual VS group ski lessons?

I think if there's 5 of you then a private teacher would be your best option as you should learn quicker but there's also the plus side of getting group lessons as you interact with other people and friendships can be made, especially with kids.

You'll hit the nursery slopes from day one so you could buy points for that day but I expect you'll want to practise yourselves after the lesson so maybe the skipass would be a better option. If you're going during the Christmas period and not New Year then theres a 10%discount for families, the kids have to be born between 1998 and 2005 and even although your 18 year old won't qualify the other 2 might if your other 16 year old was born in 1998.

UK
Level Contributor
5 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: individual VS group ski lessons?