We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vienna train station & directions

Vancouver
12 posts
Save Topic
Vienna train station & directions

Hi all!

I'm travelling by rail from Prague to Vienna on April 11th. Its my first time travelling to these parts and would like to know what train station I'll be arriving at. (I understand there are a number of rail stations in Vienna)Are there ATM machines at the stations? And lastly, what would be the best way to get to Hotel Am Augarten. Directions would be most appreciated. Thanks!

Linz
Level Contributor
2,894 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Vienna train station & directions

Hi!

As you can see at http://fahrplan.oebb.at/bin/query.exe/en

your train will start in Praha hlavni nadrazi (main station) or Holesovice. It will end in Wien Südbahnhof. At the moment, there's a detour because of floods, trains will be delayed with about 50 mins.

(This is what the information in German says).

ATMs (in Austria called "Bankomat") are everywhere! Many of them at rail stations!

vienna
Destination Expert
for Lower Austria
Level Contributor
13,600 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Vienna train station & directions

Most trains from Prague arrive at the Sudbahnhof ( South Train station) It is best to check this as soon as possible

austrian rail website

www.oebb.at

No easy way to the Hotel Augarten in the 2nd district.This is not really a convenient or best location in Vienna. The hotel probably offered cheap rate due to its location.

If you have heavy luggage take a taxi- probably 10-15 euro fare.

You can also go by public transport ( ticket for one ride is 1,50 eur).

But I would buy a 24 hour ticket or a 3 day ticket as you will need it during your stay.

Tickets are available at machines in the station.