We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

weekend in copenhagen? shopping?

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
20 posts
1 review
Save Topic
weekend in copenhagen? shopping?

hello,

i am an american student living in stockholm, so right now i'm thinking of taking a quick short weekend trip to copenhagen in the middle of october (i've never been to denmark) just to see a new place and do a little bit of shopping. so is this an ok time to go? i'm assuming it won't be any worse than stockholm, weather wise. and is the shopping better than what i can find up here or the same? i'm not expecting a london or paris, but a bit more variety would be nice...

thanks for any advice. also would welcome suggestions on where to stay.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
326 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: weekend in copenhagen? shopping?

You will find copenhagen far better shop-wise that Stockholm. I frequently visit both cities and i find that there are much more in Copenhagen. Go down the main pedestrian shopping street in Copenhagen and all the side streets especially towards "Nyhavn" end visit all the side streets.

Prices though are an inch more expensive than Stockholm especially on clothes.

Regarding the weather it is all most the same. you should expect a couple of degrees higher.

How long will you be staying - and what is your budget regarding the place to stay. If it is low budget o you then mind staying just out side central Copenhagen?

I know that there are offers right now on the direct X2000 train. So you might look into that...

And by the way - Note that most shops do NOT open on sundays in Denmark like they often do in Sweden.

Regards

Adrian

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
20 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: weekend in copenhagen? shopping?