We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moving to Skopelos for marine life

Skopelos
1 post
Save Topic
Moving to Skopelos for marine life

There are many reasons to choose to move to Skopelos. As a marine biologist, I was first drawn to the National Sporades Marine Park. But I soon found Skopelos had much to offer and plunged in to buy a house in the old town.

The marinelife reserve which first attracted my attention is actually centred on neighbouring Alonnisos and her surrounding islets. But Alonnisos proved a touch too quiet for me. And Skiathos, with its airport, rather too busy. Skopelos strikes just the right balance. Indeed; Skopelos is off the beaten track, but not too remote. It is not too big, but not too small. And it is modern and cosmopolitan, but has kept its traditional character. Exploring Skopelos further you soon realise that it is rightly known as the ‘green and blue’ island of Greece. The islands of the Cyclades have much allure, but few trees. The Ionians are green – but at the cost of wet, wet winters. Skopelos has it just right. The green is provided by 10 million pines and 3 million olive trees. And with trails throughout these lush hills and valleys, the walking and cycling is superb.