We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roads in Kefalonia

Market Harborough...
2 posts
Save Topic
Roads in Kefalonia

Hi We are looking to visit Kefalonia for the first time this year and would really like to stay around the Fiskardo area.

However, I am not good with winding roads with sheer cliffs at the side (have done the roads from Formentor in Majorca and had to turn back). Can anyone please let me know how bad the main roads are as I do not want to book a villa in this area and not be able to get to it (Big wimp!!!).

Is there anywhere else on the island that would be a better place to stay.

Lancashire
Destination Expert
for Fiscardo
Level Contributor
1,964 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Roads in Kefalonia

Hi NickNock

The most obvious and direct route from the airport to Fiscardo is indeed along the very beautiful, but yes very winding, west coast road.

However it has been possible for a few years now to miss most of this out by using the 'new' cross country road which also knocks about 15 minutes off the journey.

Where this road ends you would normally pick up the west coast road just above Myrtos Beach, you would still have a windng, slightly scary bit albeit only for about 15 minutes. You could however, at the end of the new road head right towards Agia Efimia and up to Fiscardo on the east coast, the road is mountanous but not cliff edge and certainly not scary. This takes a little longer but probably only to the extent that it cancels out the 15 minutes previously gained! It would take probably around an hour and a half at most.

You can of course explore the rest of the island by taking the alternative roads suggested.

This all makes more sense if you have a map, I can give more detailed directions, with place names if you prefer.