We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chania vs. Rethymnon

Chicago
13 posts
Save Topic
Chania vs. Rethymnon

Hello,

My fiance and I are planning a trip to Crete as part of our honeymoon. We can't decide on Chania vs. Rethymnon. We are going in May and would prefer a mix of relaxation and things to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Laura

Oxford
Level Contributor
174 posts
95 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Chania vs. Rethymnon

You've probably made your decision by now but in case you haven't I'll add my thoughts. We visited Crete for the first time in October and stayed at Rethymno but did a day trip to Chania (as Alabastron says the public bus services are frequent and quick - and cheap!). Obviously I'm no expert on Chania but my impression was there would be enough in both towns to keep you occupied. Chania was bigger and the old town was amazing but Rethymno was big enough and had a lot going on when we were there with the students diluting the tourist crowds. Maybe not as many as Chania, but plenty of restaurants to choose from!

One advantage of Rethymno is the location if you want to visit Heraklion and Knossos - relying on public transport it would be a long day trip from Chania and the other archaeological sites (Phaistos etc) would be even longer. From Rethymno we were also able to catch a bus to Plakias for a day on the palm beach at Preveli. If you feel like walking Samaria is well worth it but can easily be done from either town.

Generally I think you'd have a great time in either Chania or Rethymno - wish we were going back in May :-)

Kent
Level Contributor
9 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Chania vs. Rethymnon