We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How much Greek do I need to speak? 1st visit.

Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 posts
10 reviews
8 helpful votes
How much Greek do I need to speak? 1st visit.

I've never been to Greece before and I am concerned about communication problems because I'm not very good at picking up languages. I plan to visit Athens, Crete, Santorini, and Rhodes. Do most people speak English? Should I always carry an English/Greek dictionary? I want to be respectful while I am there, is it ok to ask people in English if they speak English?

Bolton, United...
Level Contributor
2,392 posts
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
1. Re: How much Greek do I need to speak? 1st visit.

You have no problem as most people speak some English in the tourist resorts. It is polite to learn a few words so have a crack at this site, have fun!!

agni.gr/learn_greek/learn_greek_online.asp

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13,950 posts
10 reviews
34 helpful votes
2. Re: How much Greek do I need to speak? 1st visit.

You don't really need to speak any Greek, except perhaps for your own joy.

Your trip route is in really tourism oriented places, so most people will be speaking at least good enough English to communicate, while many will be speaking good.

English ( and French ) are taught in elementary schools, so nowadays enough new people have really good language communication skills.