We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Praia da Luz / Visiting in January

London
5 posts
Save Topic
Praia da Luz / Visiting in January

Hi everyone,

I'll be visiting Praia da Luz for a few days next weekend.

Its my first time there and I'm just wondering if you guys can recommend stuff to do.

Perhaps if I tell you a bit about what I like, that'll be a good start, I'll try not to bore you!

I love great food and drink served by happy local hospitable people.

I love local and traditional music and general cultural stuff.

I'd love to do some fishing as I've never done it, and it seems like it might be a great place to do it.

If I'd like a drink in the evening, I imagine it will be pretty quiet this time of the year, but will there be anywhere remotely busy?

Are there any local produce food markets?

Also, I'll have a car so is there anywhere I should venture out to?

Sorry to bombard you all with questions. Its my first time visiting, so any info will genuinely be a great help.

Warm regards,

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
772 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Praia da Luz / Visiting in January

Hi,

Whilst Praia da Luz is likely to be quiet at this time,you'll still find plenty of places for great food.It's a couple of years since I've been there, but A Forteleza (down the hill from the church) was a great place to eat.If you travel into Lagos,you will be spoilt for choice -try O Galeao and Dom Sebastao.

There is a cultural centre in Lagos,just round the corner from the Police station-you should be able to find out here what's on.If you like jazz,Stevie Ray's Jazz & Blues bar has live music on Saturdays-it's just up the road alongside the Old Slave Market.