We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

train from Milano to Lugano

Which Lugano hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Malta
Level Contributor
94 posts
1 review
Save Topic
train from Milano to Lugano

Hi this is my first time to travel alone .I will land in Milano at around 10:30 and than I have to travel to Lugano .From Milano centrale do I have to book the train ticket or I can buy it from the stazione !

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2,523 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: train from Milano to Lugano

You need to reserve a seat on intercity trains in Italy - although on a frequently-served route like this, you probably don't need to buy it in advance.

Europe
Level Contributor
538 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: train from Milano to Lugano

You can purchase either way, but in case of direct international ticket online purchase allows you to buy slightly cheaper promo ticket (tariff SMART), but the difference is minimal. You can as well travel by regional train Milan-Chiasso(just 5.15 EUR, no need to buy online since it's full fare), and there catch next S train to Lugano (just 4 EUR full fare), thus in total travel for less than 10 EUR (while direct international ticket is 21,2 EUR)

Malta
Level Contributor
94 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: train from Milano to Lugano

So I can do it to Chiasso first because the first train from Milan to Lugano is at 3pm and I will lose time and from the Treni Italia website I saw that the best station go to chiass is porta garibaldi not stazione centrale

Thanks for your help I'm very gratefull

Europe
Level Contributor
538 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: train from Milano to Lugano