We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best way to do day trip to Assisi from Rome

Phila, PA
Level Contributor
175 posts
47 reviews
Save Topic
Best way to do day trip to Assisi from Rome

I will be in Rome for several days in November and we wish to make a day trip to Assisi. What is the best way to do this - train or bus tour? We have one member of our party whose walking is limited, but we also would like to have flexibility to be on our own a bit. Any bus tours more open ended than others if we go that way?

Ocean City, MD
Level Contributor
10,260 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best way to do day trip to Assisi from Rome

For bus tours, try the search bar above the posts. I've seen Context Tours mentioned frequently, but I've no knowledge.

I save this post for the train from Termini to Assisi, hope it helps: tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g187905-i1049-k389…

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2,419 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Best way to do day trip to Assisi from Rome

How limited is limited walking? Assisi has quite a few hills and even with bus tours you are going to have to do some walking with lots of uphill/downhill points. Assisi is beautiful but it might not be the right place to visit if you have somebody in your party that will not be able to enjoy it.

Italy/Alaska
Level Contributor
1,572 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best way to do day trip to Assisi from Rome

If the person in your party is capable of standing on the back of one of those great Skegway (? not sure of the spelling) thingys - it would be an excellent way to see the city without having to walk! I've posted info on the tour - including price and the website in previous posts - and NO I do not have any financial interest in the company!