We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2 Days in Siena - help

Venice
1 post
Save Topic
2 Days in Siena - help

I am an art history student from England currently studying in Venice. Next week we are spending 4 days in Florence followed by 2 in Siena.

We have our hostels booked and our trains to and from Florence, but I have a few questions about Siena:

1) Is it easier to get the bus or train to Siena from Florence and back again? Do we have to book in advance for this?

2) Any suggestions about what to do in Siena? We want to see the Palazzo Pubblico and the Cathedral - do we have to book in advance for these? Any other suggestions for places to visit or eat also welcome :)

Thank you!

North Carolina
Level Contributor
2,820 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2 Days in Siena - help

Bus is easier and no, don't need to book in advance. Bus will drop you off at the city center in Siena....with a train, you will need to find transportation from station to Siena center.

Piazza del Campo is cool (though touristy) place to hang out for a couple hours (drinks, gelatos, or even a meal). Cathedral is spectacular...you can get a pass to visit the catecombs and also the top of the duomo is fantastic views of the city. Ticket can be purchased outside Cathedral and don't need to purchase in advance. Our favorite part, however, was just walking the streets and exploring. Siena is a wonderful city.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25,675 posts
81 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 2 Days in Siena - help