We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How safe is 'Front Desk Safety Deposit Box'

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
98 posts
1 review
How safe is 'Front Desk Safety Deposit Box'

We'll be going to Florence in Oct and will stay near the train station. The hotel we have in mind does not have a in-room safe but they do have a front desk safe. I have never used a front desk safe before. How does it work? Do they have one BIG safe for everyone to put their money and credit cards in or individual safe per room? How safe is it?

Also, in the case that the hotel doesnot have a safe box, how do you carry/hide your cash, passport, CC cards?

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
98,671 posts
17 reviews
1. Re: How safe is 'Front Desk Safety Deposit Box'

The system varies but it is safe: there is a way of recording who owns what and your belongings will not be given to anyone else.

It is usually safe to leave your things out of sight in your hotel room: in a cupboard or a drawer so they can't be seen if the maid leaves your door open for a short time while servicing your room.

If you want to be really safe, use a money belt under your clothes.

Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
9,377 posts
25 reviews
2. Re: How safe is 'Front Desk Safety Deposit Box'

The front desk safe works just like a safe at your local bank. You sign a card and are given a box which is where you put your CC and money etc. Then the box is locked with a hotel key and with your individual key. You keep yur own key. When yu want something from the box yu have to fre sign the card and produce yuor key.

They are actually more safe than those boxes in the hotel rooms.

siena
Level Contributor
316 posts
2 reviews
3. Re: How safe is 'Front Desk Safety Deposit Box'