We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best way to get from vernazza to Venice?

Washington
Level Contributor
13 posts
117 reviews
Save Topic
Best way to get from vernazza to Venice?

Should I take the train route thru Milan or Florence?

I need to catch a cruise in Venice so we need to be there by 3pm.

And which station in Venice works best for getting on the ship?

I have little experience on trains - do I need to plan for extra leeway time between stops or can I rely on each train being on time and my ability to transfer to the next with no difficulty.

We are traveling in September.

Thanks!

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33,388 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best way to get from vernazza to Venice?

Trains Vernazza to Venezia www.trenitalia.com/tcom-en Enter time 07.00 for current train schedule.

Travelling on regional trains, validate your train ticket before boarding in the validation box.

Edited: 1:28 am, March 13, 2017
Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
96,970 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Best way to get from vernazza to Venice?

Going via Milan has fewer changes of train Monterosso and Milan), and most of the journey will be on trains that have seat reservations. Via Florence, there are more changes (usually La Spezia, Pisa and Florence) and the trains to Florence are mostly Regionale with no reserved seats.

Get off at Venezia Mestre station, on the mainland, and take a land taxi to your ship.

If a train runs late and you miss a connection, Trenitalia will change your reservation to put you on the next train. Aim to get to Mestre in plenty of time.

Bookings for September will open in May.

Washington
Level Contributor
13 posts
117 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best way to get from vernazza to Venice?