We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rome and.....????

alexa2586
Level Contributor
1 post
6 reviews
Save Topic
Rome and.....????

My husband and I want to go to Rome in August (I know...not the best time but I'm a teacher and its mine only time off) as a sort of "babymoon".

We wanted to spend 3-4 days in Rome and then 3-4 days someplace else. We want romantic, fun, a slower pace than being in a city. However, I don't know where exactly that would be. All of the tours I'm seeing include Rome and another city.

Where can we go that is "countryside-ish" and easy travel from Rome?

Thanks!

Mentioned in this post
Rome
Rome
Lazio, Italy
Colosseum Motorcycle Center
Sightseeing Tours, Gear Rentals, Vespa, Scooter & Moped Tours
SPB Tours Mediterranean Rome
Sightseeing Tours, Walking Tours, City Tours, Private Tours
Exclusiveissimo
Sightseeing Tours, Food Tours, City Tours, Private Tours, Shopping Tours
Jacksonville, FL
Destination Expert
for Jacksonville
Level Contributor
5,530 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Rome and.....????

Welcome to the Rome Forum! If you want to be sort of 'countryside-ish' you'll likely need a car. Will have you a vehicle? If so, I would recommend one of the Tuscan hill towns, perhaps Siena or Greve in Chianti.

If you won't have a car, consider staying at the B&B il Colle degli Ulivi, which is right outside Rome in a tiny town called Zagarolo. It's right in the middle of an olive grove, and the owners, Ivano and Tehri treat you like family. Ivano will happily take you on a tour through Zagarolo, and also take you to nearly Palestrina and some other easy 'countryside-ish' day trips. If you stay with them, you won't need a car.